Research

One of the company’s major goals is to create the illusion of the living without actual living intervention. To that end, the company pursues a sensitive approach combining puppetry, film, new magic and new technology (incidentally, it received support from the CNC-Dicréam for the show GIMME SHELTER). The artistic team is committed to creating the most compelling illusion in order to give the audience a unique and unsettling experience.

When building a piece, a substantial part of the preparation involves researching the feasibility of the movement and the self-contained quality of the creatures, which is made possible, in part, by the new connections generated by 3D printers and robotics.

INVISIBLE WAKEUP

When magic connects puppets and film in unusual ways

Since its inception cinema has used puppetry techniques to animate the non human creatures that fill its fictions. But it is much rarer to see the reverse happen.

The purpose of this research is to investigate how the principles of animation and illusion developed by cinema can be used for the performing arts

Read more

NAPP

Numeric’s Art Puppetry Project

​​

The Yôkaï company was invited by the Festival Mondial des Théâtres de Marionnettes in Charleville-Mézières to take part in the NAPP/Europe Creative project spearheaded by 4 European partners well-established in the area of puppetry arts

Read more

Research residency at FABLAB/EISINE in Charleville-Mézières

Engaged in researching matter and movement, the company is conducting a research and workshop program with the Bachelor students of EISINE (Industrial and Digital Sciences School of Engineering)

Read more

Recherche

Une des ambitions majeures de la compagnie est de donner l’illusion du vivant sans intervention réellement vivante. Pour ce faire, elle développe une approche sensible alliant marionnette, cinéma, magie nouvelle et nouvelles technologies (elle a notamment reçu l'aide du CNC-Dicréam pour le spectacle GIMME SHELTER). L’équipe artistique tend à rendre l’illusion la plus parfaite afin de donner à vivre au spectateur une expérience à la fois troublante et unique.

Lors d’une création, une part importante de préparation est consacrée à la recherche sur la fiabilité du mouvement et l’autonomie des créatures, rendue notamment possible par les nouvelles passerelles que créent les imprimantes 3D et la robotique. 

RÉVEIL INVISIBLE

Quand la magie des effets spéciaux connecte autrement la marionnette et le cinéma

Le cinéma a depuis toujours emprunté des techniques marionnettiques pour rendre vivantes les créatures non humaines qui ont peuplé ses fictions. Mais il est beaucoup plus rare que le mouvement inverse se produise.

Le but de cette recherche sera d’étudier les modalités d’utilisation dans le spectacle vivant des principes d'animation et d'illusion développé(e)s dans le cinéma

En savoir plus

NAPP

Numeric’s Art Puppetry Project

​​

La Compagnie Yôkaï a été invitée par le Festival Mondial des Théâtres de Marionnettes de Charleville-Mézières à prendre part au projet NAPP / Europe Creative porté par 4 partenaires européens reconnus dans le domaine des arts de la marionnette

​​

En savoir plus

Résidence de recherche au FABLAB/EISINE de Charleville-Mézières

Engagée dans la recherche sur la matière et le mouvement, la Compagnie YOKAÏ a conduit lors de l'année universitaire 2019-2020 un programme de recherche et de médiation avec des élèves de Licence de l’EiSINe (Ecole d’ingénieurs en Sciences Industrielles et Numérique)

En savoir plus