TRAVAIL VIOLAINE FIMBEL2.jpg

The term Yokai refers to a Japanese monster and means, in its broadest sense, a supernatural phenomenon / whatever is not human.

 

The technical research and artistic exploration – at the intersection of puppetry and magic – has been geared toward interrogating the boundary between humanness and the supernatural creature.

 

After graduating from ESNAM in October 2014, Violaine Fimbel started the company Yôkaï, touring the first show VOLATILE(S) in Finland, Germany, Brazil, Japan and Avignon (France).

 

The company’s artistic identity is characterized by unsettling atmospheres and fantastic forms originating from Violaine Fimbel’s imagination or drawn from visual arts (cinema, painting, sculpture, illustration, etc.) and literature.

 

In order to develop her instinctive approach to magic, which is present in her first show, Violaine Fimbel attended the New Magic training led by Raphael Navarro and Valentine Losseau – from the 14:20 company – at CNAC. There she discovered a medium and an anthropological approach that mirrored her own research – making the impossible possible, nurturing confusion, bringing the supernatural to life – and gave her the theoretical background to support her instinctive process.

 

POSSESSION, the company’s second work, from 2017, intertwines the worlds of Lewis Carroll and Antonin Artaud in a game of double intellectual and psychological possession. The show, which caught the attention of the company 14:20, performed at the “New Magic young talents” night at Théâtre du Rond-Point in 2018, and led to the installation KILLING ALICE.

 

The latest work by the company, GIMME SHELTER, explores the supernatural and the line between reality and fantasy. The show premiered at the World Puppet Theater Festival in Charleville-Mézières and Manège de Reims-Scène Nationale where Violaine was also supported artist for two seasons.

 

Violaine Fimbel designs and creates the puppets that appear on stage. Her creative process is geared towards one particular goal : to confuse the audience’s perception constantly by intertwining magic with puppetry. In 2020, she and device fabricator Marjan Kunaver initiated a research program connecting the special effects of film with puppetry and magic onstage. The project, whose research and creative focus is invisible puppetry, is called INVISIBLE AWAKENING.

© Justine Maillard

Le terme Yôkaï désigne un monstre japonais et signifie, dans son acception la plus large, phénomène surnaturel // tout ce qui n’est pas humain.

Cette idée de phénomène et de questionnement de la frontière entre ce qui fait qu’on est humain ou créature a amené un lien évident avec l’approche artistique de Violaine Fimbel, et son lien singulier avec la marionnette et la magie.

A la sortie de l’ESNAM, en octobre 2014, Violaine Fimbel crée la Compagnie Yôkaï, dont le premier spectacle VOLATILE(S) a tourné en Finlande, en Allemagne, au Brésil, au Japon et en Avignon.

La compagnie décline son identité artistique à travers des univers perturbants, des formes fantastiques, sortis de l’imaginaire de Violaine Fimbel ou puisés dans les arts visuels (cinéma, peinture, sculpture, illustration…) et la littérature.

Pour approfondir une pratique instinctive de la magie, présente dans son premier spectacle, Violaine suit la formation en Magie Nouvelle dispensée au CNAC par Raphaël Navarro et Valentine Losseau, de la Compagnie 14 :20. Elle y découvre un langage artistique et une approche anthropologique qui font écho à sa recherche -rendre possible l’impossible, cultiver le trouble, donner vie au surnaturel – et qui lui apportent la matière théorique qui complète sa démarche intuitive.

En 2017, POSSESSION est la seconde création de la compagnie, où se croisent les univers de Lewis Carroll et Antonin Artaud dans un jeu de double possession, intellectuelle et psychique. Cette forme, repérée par la Compagnie 14 :20, joue notamment à la soirée « Jeunes Talents Magie Nouvelle » au Théâtre du Rond-Point en 2018. C’est de cette proposition qu’est née l’installation KILLING ALICE.

La dernière création de la Compagnie, GIMME SHELTER (donne-moi un abri), explore le surnaturel et la frontière entre le réel et le fantasmé. Les premières représentations ont été données au Festival Mondial des Théâtres de Marionnettes de Charleville-Mézières et au Manège de Reims-Scène Nationale, dont Violaine a été par ailleurs artiste compagnon pendant deux saisons.

Violaine Fimbel conçoit et réalise les marionnettes

présentes sur le plateau. Sa démarche d’écriture poursuit un but bien précis : créer un trouble permanent sur la perception du spectateur, en croisant la magie et la marionnette. Elle initie avec Marjan Kunaver, imachinateur, un programme de recherche à partir de 2020 connectant les effets spéciaux au cinéma et le plateau en marionnette et magie. Plaçant l’animation invisible au cœur de son processus de recherche et de création, ce projet s’appelle RÉVEIL INVISIBLE.

Photo © Justine Maillard