Logo Nature Morte blanc

press to zoom

press to zoom

press to zoom

press to zoom
1/7

All audiences, starting from age 11

This work draws inspiration from Against Nature, a decadent literary oddity written by JK Huysmans in 1884 in which the main character, des Esseintes, escapes his reality and goes on to recreate one. He surrounds himself with strange and mysterious things, including live and dead animals as well as plants selected for their monstrous and artificial aspect.

 

Convinced that « Nature » no longer has anything to offer to humanity, he doesn’t live “with” but “above” his surroundings. He encapsulates this regrettably very contemporary relationship in a poetic and troubling way. The microcosm he creates and intends to tame and shape eventually dies (his turtle), grows away from him (his flowers), or unsettles him (he experiences olfactory hallucinations). He then returns to “civilization” and chooses not to adjust to this new surrounding reality. By refusing to conform to the unfamiliar, he will not complete or continue his transformation.

 

This ending, truncated of the possible fantastic departures it suggested, inspired a desire to imagine a loose adaptation of Against Nature based on the following premise:

 

What if des Esseintes could not break out of what he initiated and that his body envelope – affected by its environment – continued its disappearance/transformation process

 

The central theme of Against Nature offers uncharted avenues for magic and puppetry exploration where the “human” status, a core element of Yôkaï’s creative process, resonates tremendously.

The link between the soul and the envelope will be conveyed through smoke manipulation involving lightning or gradual disappearances/appearances, with smoke embodying this transitory place where presences live. Finally, the breath of life – with creatures initially bereft of it and now brought to life – will round off this reflection, highlighted by the highly symbolic title of the show: Still Life.

Logo Nature Morte blanc

press to zoom

press to zoom

press to zoom

press to zoom
1/9

Tout public, à partir de 11 ans

Aux sources de cette création : A Rebours, ovni décadent écrit par JK Huysmans en 1884 où le personnage principal, Des Esseintes, s'échappe du réel dans lequel il évolue pour mieux s’en recréer un autre. Il s’entoure d’éléments aussi étranges que mystérieux ; des animaux vivants et morts, ainsi que des plantes choisies pour leur aspect monstrueux et artificiel.

Persuadé que la "Nature" n’a plus rien à apporter à l’Humain, il n’est pas dans un rapport de ‘vivre avec’, mais de vivre ‘au-dessus’. Il nous renvoie à cette relation malheureusement si contemporaine de façon poétique et troublante : le microcosme qu’il recrée, qu’il veut dompter et façonner finit par mourir (sa tortue), lui échapper (ses fleurs), ou le perturber (il est pris d’hallucinations olfactives). Il finira donc par retourner ‘à la civilisation’, choisissant de ne pas s’adapter à ce nouveau réel qui l’entoure. En refusant de se plier à l’inconnu, il n’envisage pas d’achever ou de poursuivre sa transformation.

De cette fin amputée des possibles échappées fantastiques qu’elle esquissait, est née l’envie d’imaginer une libre adaptation d’A Rebours à partir de ce postulat :

 

Et si Des Esseintes ne parvenait pas à s’extirper de ce qu’il a impulsé, que son enveloppe corporelle, affectée par ce qui l’entoure, poursuive son processus de disparition et/ou de transformation ? 

 

Le propos d’A Rebours offre un possible magique et marionnettique inouï, où la question du statut d’ "Humain", au cœur-même de l’identité créative de Yôkaï, résonne de façon puissante et infinie. 

Le lien entre l’âme et l’enveloppe sera porté par une manipulation de fumée, dans un travail de disparitions/apparitions fulgurantes ou progressives, la matière elle-même incarnant cet état fragile de présences entre-deux. Enfin, le souffle de vie, avec l’autonomie progressive des créatures qui en semblaient initialement dépourvues, viendra parachever cette réflexion, mise en exergue par le titre hautement symbolique du spectacle : Nature Morte.